Rites of Passage

What is a Rite of Passage?

A Rite of Passage is an intentional activity, ceremony or ritual (rite) used to celebrate, mark and/or acknowledge a significant life transition. Journeymen specifically focuses on supporting teen boys as they begin their process of becoming a young man. Through healthy challenge, the cultivation of meaningful relationships, and guided exploration, participants will step boldly into their lives with a renewed sense of purpose, power, and identity.

Stage 1: Separation ->

The first few days involve arrival, saying goodbye to the families, learning the forms and codes of community living, embracing the natural environment, and cutting loose from the digital world. Participants may elect to symbolize their independence during group sharing circles or through a self-generated ritual (rite). Other activities will include primitive skill practice, team-building, and a gauntlet of intentional challenges designed to cultivate a sense of unity and humility among the group.

Stage 3: Integration ->

Without question, the most important part of our work lies in this stage. Boys return from their solo with something to share, and are guided to tend their vision through the ancient arts of storytelling, mirroring, and manifestation. Direct community engagement is immediate, with our service focused on nature preservation, permaculture/food production, and inter-generational relationship building. Commitments are established for ongoing check-ins and mentorship. Finally, the families are welcomed back to the site and the boys are invited to begin to share their story / vision, define a new role / identity for themselves, and be witnessed in their authentic, powerful selves.

Stage 2: Threshold ->

The crux of the entire Quest culminates in a 24 hour solo vigil, designed to empower our participants through a greater sense independence and a deeper understanding of their capabilities. After preparing for and unpacking from this deeply powerful experience, other primary activities in this stage include identifying and practicing key life skills, outdoor survival techniques, and strengthening the community codes.